the project

This is a musical journey through India and the Himalaya Mountains. Using a variety of synthesizers, David Parsons creates a beautiful and vivid musical picture. We hear and feel the driving wind and sense the mystery of the deserted snowy mountain meadows. In Rishikesh an underlying growling depicts the awesome feeling of standing at the base of the majestic Himalaya Mountains and looking up. The full-bodied rumble of Kailasa portrays the power of the shrine of Lord Shiva. In Varuna Deva rhythms are used like brushes to paint the lively Ganges River. Spiced with recordings of natural sounds, such as thunder and chanting, Himalaya is a passionate view of India and her mighty mountain range.

the artist

David Parsons has worked extensively with Indian instruments and with synthesizers. At age twenty, inspired by Ravi Shankar, he fell in love with the sitar and since then has traveled to India many times to further his study of the sitar and Indian music. Parsons composed almost exclusively on Indian instruments until 1979 when he purchased his first synthesizer. His devotion to both Western technology and Eastern music and instruments is evidenced in his music. Parsons' first two releases, Tibetan Plateau/Sounds of the Mothership (17013-2), received overwhelming praise from new age radio shows and publications. Himalaya continues the expression of David Parsons' devotion, and displays his exceptional talent as a composer.




1 Himalaya 19'21"
2 Kailasa 12'52"
3 Akbar 6'00"
4 Varanasi Dawn 10'21"
5 Rishikesh 14'01"
6 Varuna Deva 10'12"
  Total Time: 72'47"